BJP to not area candidate for WB RS bypoll, TMC’s Sushmita Dev more likely to be elected unopposed


The principal opposition BJP in West Bengal stated on Monday it is not going to area a candidate for the October 4 Rajya Sabha by-poll, a growth that can pave the way in which for election of the ruling TMC nominee unopposed. The TMC had final week named Sushmita Dev, who lately joined the celebration after quitting the Congress, as its candidate for the by-poll. Dev, the daughter of veteran Congress chief from Assam the late Santosh Mohan Dev, was the chief of the ladies’s wing of the Congress. She is more likely to file her nomination on Monday, sources near her stated.

The by-election has been necessitated as TMC’s Manas Bhunia give up the Rajya Sabha after successful the meeting election from Sabang in Paschim Medinipur.

“BJP will not nominate any candidate for Rajyasabha bypoll due in West Bengal. Outcome is predetermined. Our focus is to make sure unelected CM to be unelected once again. Jai Ma Kali,” Leader of the Opposition Suvendu Adhikari tweeted.

Adhikari, who defeated Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee in Nandigram, was apparently referring to her contesting by-election from Bhabanipur meeting seat in Kolkata. In an earlier by-election for a Rajya Sabha seat in July, the BJP had determined towards fielding its nominee.

TMC candidate and former Prasar Bharati CEO Jawhar Sircar had received elected unopposed. The BJP had received 77 of the 292 seats within the March-April meeting elections and the Trinamool Congress 213. The ISF and GJM had bagged one seat every. BJP MLAs Nisith Pramanik and Jagannath Sarkar resigned to retain their Lok Sabha seats, bringing down the celebration’s power within the Assembly to 75. Four different BJP legislators converted to the TMC however are but to resign as MLAs.


Source hyperlink

Leave a Comment