Indian Premier League 2021 | Struggling KKR look to script turnaround in opposition to RCB in second part


RCB is third within the eight-team standings with 10 factors, KKR are languishing on the seventh spot with 4 factors.

Enduring a forgettable outing within the first half of this 12 months’s IPL, two-time former champions Kolkata Knight Riders would search for reversal of fortunes once they resume their marketing campaign in opposition to Royal Challengers Bangalore within the second part of T20 league right here on Monday.

While Virat Kohli’s RCB is third within the eight-team standings with 10 factors from seven video games, 2012 and 2014 champions KKR are languishing on the seventh spot with simply two wins out of seven ties.

And Eoin Morgan-led KKR can be hoping to make a turnaround, identical to 2014 version once they gained 9 video games in a row to say the title.

KKR chief mentor David Hussey additionally exuded optimism about scripting a turnaround, regardless of a nightmarish first half.

“All we have to do is win this… We have done it before and so we can do it again… I feel we have the squad to do it also. You qualify for the finals and whole competition starts again,” the Australian mentioned.

But it will be simpler mentioned than executed for KKR as they face RCB, a formidable outfit, whose captain Kohli can be gunning for achievement with the bat after saying his choice to give up as India’s T20 skipper following the T20 World Cup which can be held after the IPL in UAE.

Even although KKR leads in head-to-head file in opposition to RCB, profitable 18 and dropping 13 out of 28 fixtures performed between the 2 sides, the 38-run defeat in opposition to Kohli’s workforce within the first half of the occasion in Chennai can be contemporary on their gamers’ minds.

KKR’s two wins earlier this 12 months got here in opposition to two under-performing sides — Punjab Kings, who’re positioned only a rung above them, and bottom-placed Sunrisers Hyderabad.

KKR can be relying closely on the pair of Subhman Gill and Nitin Rana to ship the products of their batting division, though the duo didn’t have one of the best of outings within the first leg.

While Gill scored simply 132 runs, Rana managed 201 runs within the first seven video games for KKR on this 12 months’s IPL, which was postponed in April following a number of COVID-19 circumstances contained in the bio-bubble in India.

Besides, Morgan might want to let his bat do the speaking and lead from the entrance.

Dinesh Karthik, Andre Russell, Rahul Tripathy and Shakib Al Hasan too want to come back good for KKR if the workforce harbours any hopes of constructing it to the play-offs.

KKR’s bowling division can be on the shoulders of Kiwi Tim Southee, who got here in as a alternative for Pat Cummins for the second half.

RCB, however, are presently positioned in a cushty place and can be hoping for Kohli to play freely and rating massive runs, particularly after taking the large name of relinquishing T20 captaincy.

With Glenn Maxwell (223 runs from 7 video games) and AB de Villiers (207 runs from 7) main the run scorers chart until now for the workforce, RCB’s batting unit appears ominous.

Kohli (198), by his personal requirements, has been a little bit disappointing and Devdutt Padikkal (195) too can be searching for a constant present.

On the bowling entrance, Mohammed Siraj and Kiwi Kyle Jamieson would lead the assault which additionally has Harshal Patel, Navdeep Saini and Yuzvendra Chahal, who can be determined to reply the selectors after being ignored from India’s T20 World Cup squad.

The additions of Sri Lanka duo of Wanindu Hasaranga and Dushmantha Chameera, who changed Adam Zampa and Kane Richardson, can even maintain the workforce in good stead as they’ve a superb understanding of the UAE circumstances.

Teams (from):

Kolkata Knight Riders: Eoin Morgan (capt), Dinesh Karthik, Gurkeerat Singh Mann, Karun Nair, Nitish Rana, Rahul Tripathy, Shubman Gill, Harbhajan Singh, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Kuldeep Yadav, Lockie Ferguson, Pawan Negi, M Prasidh Krishna, Sandeep Warrier, Shivam Dube, Tim Southee, Vaibhav Arora, Varun Chakravarthy, Andre Russel, Ben Cutting, Shakib Al Hasan, Sunil Narine, Venkatesh Iyer, Sheldon Jackson, Tim Seifert.

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Virat Kohli (capt), Navdeep Saini, Glenn Maxwell, Dan Christian, Rajat Patidar, Dushmantha Chameera, Pavan Deshpande, Mohammed Siraj, Harshal Patel, Mohammed Azharuddeen, Sachin Baby, Wanindu Hasaranga, George Garton, Yuzvendra Chahal, Shahbaz Ahmed, Devdutt Padikkal, Kyle Jamieson, Suyash Prabhudessai, KS Bharat, Tim David, Akash Deep, AB de Villiers.

Match begins at 7:30PM IST.


Source hyperlink

Leave a Comment