IPL 2021: KKR vs RCB – Final likelihood for skipper Kohli to finish Bangalore’s title drought


Virat Kohli,
Image Source : PTI

File photograph of Virat Kohli.

After being on the helm of Royal Challengers Bangalore for 9 seasons, Virat Kohli‘s time as their captain is now coming to an finish. After all, the 32-year-old modern-day batting nice has lastly succumbed to the stress of delivering titles on the huge stage and has determined to step down because the franchise’s captain after a barren title run.

The writing was on the wall for the reason that day he took the decision of letting go his T20 captaincy with the nationwide crew as effectively. However the excellent news is with the captaincy monkey off his again, Kohli the batsman might be in full move.

Back in 2013 when Kohli took cost because the captain, the expectations had been sky excessive from the main Indian batsmen to take RCB by means of to their maiden title. However, the skipper didn’t ship the specified consequence regardless of having a star-studded crew at his disposal. Known for main with aggression, Kohli’s profitable share through the interval would not inflict a lot confidence. 

Looking at Kohli’s captaincy document in T20I cricket, he could also be forward of Dhoni by way of win share however in terms of trophies, Kohli lags far behind. Kohli’s win share in T20 cricket as captain is 65.11 whereas Dhoni’s win share is 59.28. Although the title of the 2007 T20 World Cup is registered in Dhoni’s title as captain, whereas Kohli’s Jhaali remains to be empty.

However, in contrast to worldwide cricket, Kohli’s win share as captain in IPL is 48.04, which raises many huge questions. Under Kohli’s captaincy, RCB has performed a complete of 132 matches, out of which the crew has been profitable in profitable 60 whereas it has misplaced 65. During this 3 matches had been tied and a pair of couldn’t get any consequence. In distinction, Mumbai captain Rohit has received 5 IPL titles for his crew and his win share is greater than 60.

List of captains
Player Span Mat Won Lost Tied NR %
R Dravid 2008-2008 14 4 10 0 0 28.57
KP Pietersen 2009-2009 6 2 4 0 0 33.33
A Kumble 2009-2010 35 19 16 0 0 54.28
DL Vettori 2011-2012 28 15 13 0 0 53.57
V Kohli 2011-2021 132 60 65 3 4 48.04
SR Watson 2017-2017 3 1 2 0 0 33.33

Stat credit score: EspnCricinfo


Source hyperlink

Leave a Comment