National Boxing Championship | Lakshya stuns Sumit, enters closing


VIJAYNAGAR: Twenty-year-old Lakshya shocked Olympian Sumit Sangwan in an 86 kg semifinal match of the National boxing championships on the Inspire Institute of Sports (IIS) right here on Monday.

Taller than the lanky Sumit, Lakshay recorded a 4-1 win to be among the many 11 Services males who reached the finals.

Even as Sumit relied on his highly effective mixtures, Jaipur boy Lakshay —a two-time Khelo India champion and a Youth National champion who joined Army in February 2020—used his left jabs successfully from an extended vary. His counter punches, together with an exquisite proper hook, and defence fetched him a memorable victory.

In 57 kg, World youth champion Sachin of Haryana fought valiantly earlier than happening to skilled Services man Mohammad Hussamuddin with a 4-1 verdict.

Akash, one other younger Services boxer, rode on his energy and accuracy to upset the nimble-footed former World youth champion Sachin Siwach of Railways 4-1 in a 54 kg semifinal bout.

Other outcomes (semifinals): Kuldeep Kumar (Chd) bt Ravi (Kumar (UP) 5-0, Govind Sahani (RSPB) bt Barun Singh (SSCB) 5-0;

51kg: Deepak Kumar (SSCB) bt Ajay Pendor (Mah) 5-0, Ankit (Har) bt Ruchir Srivas (MP) 5-0;

54kg: Rajpinder Singh (Pun) bt Sanjay Kumar (Utk) 5-0;

57kg: Rohit Mor (Del) bt Ashish Kumar (HP) 5-0;

60kg: Varinder Singh (RSPB) bt Harivansh Tawari (Mah) 3-0, Etash Khan Muhammed (SSCB) bt Vijay Kumar (Pun) 5-0;

63.5kg: Dalveer Singh Tomar (SSCB) bt Abinash Jamwal (HP) 4-1, Shiva Thapa (Asm) bt Abhishek Yadav (UP) 5-0;

67kg: Akash (SSCB) bt Dinesh (RSPB) 5-0, Aditya Pratap Yadav (UP) bt Amit Sheoran (Raj) 4-1;

71kg: Nishant Dev (Kar) bt Yashpal (Har) 5-0, Amit Kumar (DDNH) bt Hemant Yadav (Del) 5-0;

75kg: Sumit (SSCB) bt Nikhil Dubey (Mah) 5-0, Rohit Tokas (RSPB) bt Buntee Singh (Del) 5-0;

80kg: Vinit (Har) bt Rahul Rathi (Del) 5-0, Sachin Kumar (SSCB) bt Harpreet (Chd) 5-0;

86kg: Prayag Chauhan (RSPB) bt Gowtham Palani (TN) 5-0;

92kg: Naveen Kumar (Har) bt Raghav Chaudhary (Pun) 5-0, Sanjeet (SSCB) bt Harsh Kaushik (Del) 5-0;

92+kg: Sagar (Chd) bt Reynold Joseph (Mah) RSC-R1, Narender (SSCB) bt Sagar Chhikara (RSPB) 5-0.


Source hyperlink

Leave a Comment