Nishant shocks Naveen in National Boxing Championship


Young Nishant Dev surprised Strandja memorial bronze medallist Naveen Boora to enter the semifinals and guarantee himself of a primary podium end within the National boxing championships on the Inspire Institute of Sports (IIS) right here on Sunday.

The 20-year-old Nishant, an IIS trainee hailing from Haryana and representing Karnataka, used his expertise of sparring with National champion Naveen on the camp to document a 5-0 victory within the 71kg quarterfinal.

Nishant, a southpaw, initiated assaults early and stored the hard-punching Services rival quiet.

“The time spent at the camp made me fight fearlessly. Even though I had body soreness due to the previous bout (against Railways’ Ashish Kulheria), I was able to do well,” stated Nishant.

Promising Services boxer Sumit produced a power-packed efficiency to get the higher of the skilled Ankit Khatana of Haryana 5-0 in a 75kg quarterfinal contest.

The seasoned Shiva Thapa neatly dealt with the problem posed by World youth bronze medallist Ankit Narwal of Railways.

Thapa banked on his defensive expertise and clear punches to beat Narwal 4-1 in a 63.5kg last-eight bout.

Other necessary outcomes (quarterfinals):

48kg: Barun Singh (SSCB) bt Neeraj Swami (Del) 5-0, Govind Sahani (RSPB) bt Shiv Kant (Pun) 4-1.

51kg: Deepak Kumar (SSCB) bt Sparsh Kumar (Pun) 5-0, Ankit (Har) bt Ashish Insha (RSPB) 3-2.

54kg: Sachin Siwach (RSPB) bt Roshan Zameer (Goa) 5-0; 57kg: Mohd. Hussamuddin bt Rushikesh Goud (Mah) KO-R3.

60kg: Varinder Singh (RSPB) bt Inderjit Singh (DDNH) 5-0; 63.5kg: Abhinash Jamwal (HP) bt Hitesh Singh (DDNH) 4-1.

67kg: Amit Sheoran (Raj) bt Aman (Chd) 3-2; 71kg: Amit Kumar (DDNH) bt Nagesh Kharare (Mah) 5-0.

75kg: Buntee Singh (Del) Pushpender Rathee (Goa) 4-1; 80kg: Sachin Kumar (SSCB) bt Uday Singh (Kar) 4-1.

86kg: Gowtham Palani (TN) bt Vishal Bataan (Kar) RSC-R1, Sumit Sangwan (Har) bt Avinash Singh (MP) RSC-R3.

92kg: Sanjeet (SSCB) bt Sandeep Sharma (RSPB) ABD-R2; 92+kg: Narender (SSCB) bt Tarun Sharma (Raj) 5-0.


Source hyperlink

Leave a Comment