Jack Nicklaus In Britain, the people of the country have achieved in the arts of pomp and ceremony. The ceremony too

Jack Nicklaus

as was the occasion at the time that they held a ceremony at the University of St. Andrews and the Royal Burgh of

St. Andrews Community Council held an informal get-together on Tuesday, to award five honorary degrees and made

Jack Nicklaus--as he is known as Dr. Nicklaus in their academic eyes--an honorary citizen in the Auld Grey Toon. The

event was attended by a large crowd inside the Younger Hall on North Street--which included PGA Tour commissioner

Jay Monahan, USGA executive director Mike Whan and Augusta National president Fred Ridley as well as

Catriona Matthew, Jose Maria Olazabal, Sandy Lyle, Lee Trevino and Bob Charles all emerged as "Doctors of Law.

Past honorees included Gary Player, Colin Montgomerie, Seve Ballesteros, Peter Alliss, Nick Faldo, Peter Thomson,

Charlie Sifford, Renee Powell, Tom Watson, Padraig Harrington, Arnold Palmer and Paul Lawrie. All of that added another

memorable chapter of the location in which, 64 years before, Bobby Jones had famously signed his Freedom of

St. Andrews. Bobby Jones, Benjamin Franklin and now Nicklaus (with the modern version) have been the sole three